Reasons Short-Term Disability Claims Can Be Denied

A short-term disability claim can be denied even when an illness or injury prevents someone from working. Insurers and employers typically review plan rules, medical evidence, work duties, deadlines, and other eligibility requirements before approving benefits. Knowing the common reasons short-term disability claims are denied can help claimants spot missing information, understand a decision letter, and take timely steps to appeal. The exact rules depend on the policy, employer plan, and state law.

How Short-Term Disability Claims Are Reviewed

Short-term disability (STD) insurance replaces part of an employee’s income for a limited period when a covered medical condition prevents them from working. Coverage may come through an employer-sponsored plan or an individual policy. Some employers provide paid medical leave directly instead of buying an insurance policy, and state-run programs may apply in certain states.

There is no single nationwide definition of disability for every STD plan. A policy may require proof that the employee cannot perform their own job, cannot perform certain essential duties, or meets another plan-specific standard. It may also set a waiting period, benefit duration, payment percentage, and exclusions. The plan document and certificate of coverage—not a general description of disability insurance—control the claim’s requirements.

✓
Quick, confidential phone check
Tell us the basics and we’ll point you to the right next step. No long forms.
Confidential • Fast • Helpful guidance

Claims are commonly reviewed using forms from the employee, employer, and treating medical providers. Depending on the plan, a reviewer may also consider medical records, job duties, treatment history, and information from an independent medical review. A denial may involve one problem or several, so the written explanation matters.

Common Reasons Short-Term Disability Claims Are Denied

The Medical Evidence Does Not Show Functional Limitations

A diagnosis alone may not establish eligibility. The insurer may need evidence showing how symptoms or treatment prevent the employee from performing specific job duties during the claimed period. For example, records might confirm a condition but say little about limits on standing, lifting, concentration, attendance, or safely completing work tasks.

Medical support is most useful when it connects the condition to functional restrictions and explains how long those restrictions are expected to last. The claim file may be incomplete if notes are brief, treatment is sporadic, or the provider’s statements do not address the plan’s definition of disability.

Medical Records Are Missing, Inconsistent, or Submitted Late

Claims can be denied when required forms, test results, office notes, or other records are not received by the deadline. Missing documentation can also result from administrative problems, such as a provider’s office failing to return a questionnaire or records being sent to the wrong address.

Inconsistencies may raise questions, too. For example, the reported limitations may differ between forms, or a treatment note may describe abilities that appear inconsistent with the claimed restrictions. Such differences do not automatically prove that a claim is invalid, but they can prompt additional review. Claimants can help reduce confusion by checking records for accuracy and asking providers to clarify relevant discrepancies.

The Condition Does Not Meet the Policy’s Disability Definition

An employee may be unable to perform one task but still not meet the plan’s definition of disability. Some policies focus on whether the employee can perform the material duties of their regular occupation. Others may have different standards or rules for partial disability and return-to-work benefits.

✓
Quick, confidential phone check
Tell us the basics and we’ll point you to the right next step. No long forms.
Confidential • Fast • Helpful guidance

The decision may turn on how the plan describes the employee’s occupation and essential duties. A job title alone may not capture physical, cognitive, scheduling, or safety demands. A clear job description can help the reviewer compare documented medical restrictions with actual work responsibilities.

The Claimant Did Not Follow Required Treatment

A policy may require ongoing, appropriate medical care. A denial may cite limited treatment, missed appointments, failure to follow a prescribed plan, or insufficient evidence of continuing symptoms. The effect of a treatment gap depends on the circumstances and the policy; a gap does not necessarily mean the person was not disabled.

Cost, access to care, side effects, transportation, or a provider’s advice may explain why a recommended treatment was not pursued. If a decision relies on treatment history, relevant records and a clear explanation may help address the concern during an appeal.

The Claim Does Not Meet the Plan’s Eligibility Rules

Coverage may depend on employment status, hours worked, length of service, enrollment, or whether the employee was covered when the disability began. A claim might be denied if the person was not eligible, did not enroll when required, or had not satisfied a waiting period. Some plans also require the employee to be actively at work on a specified date.

These rules vary by plan. The denial letter and plan documents can help identify whether the dispute concerns medical eligibility or a separate coverage requirement.

The Claim Was Filed Too Late

STD plans often set deadlines for notifying the plan of a disability and submitting proof of loss. Late filing may lead to denial, particularly if the plan states that timely notice is required. A claimant may be able to explain why timely filing was not possible, but the result depends on the plan and applicable law.

It is important to distinguish an initial claim deadline from an appeal deadline. The denial notice should state how to appeal and when the appeal must be received. Keeping copies of forms and proof of delivery can help document compliance.

The Disability Began Before Coverage or Falls Under an Exclusion

A plan may exclude or limit certain conditions, including some preexisting conditions, depending on its terms and applicable law. Other exclusions may concern particular causes of injury or types of treatment. The insurer should identify the policy language it relied on rather than simply stating that an exclusion applies.

Preexisting-condition provisions can be technical. Their wording, look-back period, and interaction with enrollment rules matter. A claimant should review the actual plan language and the facts used to apply it.

The Claim Is Based on a Noncovered Reason for Missing Work

STD generally covers qualifying medical disabilities, not every reason an employee needs time away from work. A denial may be appropriate under a particular plan when the absence is for caregiving, bonding with a new child, personal travel, or another nonmedical reason. Separate employer leave, paid family leave, or state programs may address some of these circumstances.

Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) leave is also different from STD benefits. FMLA may provide eligible employees with job-protected leave for qualifying reasons, but it does not itself replace wages. A person may qualify for leave without qualifying for disability payments, or may receive disability benefits while separately meeting leave requirements.

The Insurer Believes the Employee Can Return to Work

A reviewer may conclude that the medical evidence supports a return to work, a reduced schedule, or modified duties. This can happen when records show improvement, a provider releases the employee, or the plan’s reviewer interprets the restrictions differently from the treating provider.

Return-to-work disputes are especially sensitive to timing. Medical evidence should address the relevant dates and explain any continuing limitations, not just describe the condition in general terms. If modified work is available, the plan may have specific rules for partial disability or reduced earnings.

Other Income or Duplicate Benefits Affect Payment

Some policies offset STD payments by other income, such as state disability benefits, workers’ compensation, or paid leave. An offset may reduce the payment rather than establish that the claimant is medically ineligible. Overlapping benefits can also involve coordination rules, repayment provisions, or reporting duties.

Claimants should report other benefits as the policy requires and review the calculation in the decision notice. A disagreement about the amount paid may be different from a denial of the claim itself.

What to Look for in a Denial Letter

A denial letter should explain the decision and provide information about review rights. For an employer-sponsored plan, it may identify the plan provisions, evidence considered, and steps for filing an appeal. The letter can help show whether the issue is missing evidence, a policy exclusion, a deadline, or a disagreement about work capacity.

Read the notice promptly and keep the envelope, attachments, and any later correspondence. Make note of the date the appeal is due and how the plan requires it to be submitted. If the explanation is unclear, a claimant can ask the plan administrator for clarification and request relevant claim-file materials.

Steps That May Strengthen an Appeal

  1. Check the deadline and instructions. Follow the appeal method in the denial notice. Keep a complete copy and proof of delivery or online submission.
  2. Request the claim file and governing documents. Ask for the records and materials relevant to the decision, along with the plan document, certificate, or summary plan description when applicable.
  3. Identify each reason for denial. Address every stated ground rather than submitting only a general objection.
  4. Gather targeted medical support. Ask treating providers to explain diagnosis, symptoms, restrictions, treatment, and expected duration in relation to actual job duties and the dates at issue.
  5. Correct factual errors. Provide accurate job information, relevant records, and explanations for gaps or apparent inconsistencies.
  6. Keep an organized record. Save forms, medical records, letters, call notes, and delivery confirmations.

A detailed appeal is often more useful than simply repeating the original claim. Under some employer-sponsored plans covered by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA), the administrative appeal is an important stage for submitting evidence before a final decision. ERISA rules generally provide at least 180 days to appeal a denied disability-benefit claim, but claimants should follow the deadline stated in the notice and confirm which rules apply. Not every STD arrangement is governed by ERISA; for example, certain government and church plans may be exempt, and state law can matter for insured policies.

Because deadlines and procedures vary, a claimant facing a complex denial may want to consult an attorney or a qualified benefits counselor promptly. This is particularly important when a deadline is close, benefits have been terminated, or the decision involves a disputed exclusion or substantial medical evidence.

Short-Term Disability Denial vs. FMLA or State Benefits

Different programs serve different purposes, and approval under one does not guarantee approval under another. STD insurance generally provides income replacement under a policy. FMLA may provide eligible workers with unpaid, job-protected leave. State paid family or medical leave programs, where available, have their own eligibility and application rules.

Workers’ compensation usually concerns work-related injuries or illnesses and follows a separate process. An employee may have rights under more than one program, but benefits can interact or offset each other. Checking with the employer’s benefits administrator and reviewing each program’s rules can help clarify which applications and deadlines apply.

Questions About Denied Short-Term Disability Claims

Can a short-term disability claim be denied without an independent medical exam?

Possibly. A plan may make a decision based on the records and information it has, subject to its terms and applicable law. The absence of an independent exam does not, by itself, establish that a denial is improper.

Does a doctor’s note guarantee approval?

No. A note can support a claim, but the plan may require specific forms, records, and evidence connecting medical restrictions to its disability definition and the claimant’s work duties.

Can someone appeal a short-term disability denial?

Many plans provide an internal appeal process. The denial notice should explain how to appeal and the deadline. Applicable procedures depend on the plan type and governing law, so the notice and plan documents should be reviewed carefully.

Sources and Further Information

Similar Posts